Europe Map

Europe map

Europe Map

What is Europe’s EU?

The European Union – also known as the EU – is an economic and political partnership involving 28 European countries.

It began after World War Two to foster economic co-operation, with the idea that countries which trade together are more likely to avoid going to war with each other.

It has since grown to become a “single market” allowing goods and people to move around, basically as if the member states were one country.
It has its own currency, the euro, which is used by 19 of the member countries, its own parliament and it now sets rules in a wide range of areas – including on the environment, transport, consumer rights and even things such as mobile phone charges.

The Eurozone: 19 countries in Europe use the euro (€) as currency

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain.

11 other countries in the European Union do not use the euro:

Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Sweden, United Kingdom (also known as UK, including ‘Great’ Britain, uses the sterling pound).

Schengen Map (passport-free travel), Eurozone

Schengen Europe Map

Schengen Europe Map created by IgnisFatuus, Blue-Haired Lawyer, Danlaycock and Bugbog.

EU member states participating

EU member state not participating in Schengen and not required to join

Brexit (British Exit), but not quite yet!

non-EU member states participating

non-EU member states de facto participating (Monaco)

non-EU member states with an open border (San Marino and Vatican City inside Italy)

Brexit summary from the BBC

Why is Britain leaving the European Union?

A referendum – a vote in which everyone of voting age can take part – was held on Thursday 23 June 2016, to decide whether the UK should leave or remain in the European Union. Leave won by 52% to 48%. The referendum turnout was 71.8%, with more than 30 million people voting but the vote was immensely divisive as a] millions of British people living in the EU were not permitted to vote b] many claims made by the ‘Leave EU’ leaders were fake news and  social media support was massive, probably triggered by foreign ‘bots’.

What has happened since the referendum?

Britain has got a new Prime Minister – Theresa May. The former home secretary took over from David Cameron, who resigned on the day after losing the referendum.

Like Mr Cameron, Mrs May (more recently known as the Maybot due to her repetitive and unconvincing speech patters) was against Britain leaving the EU but she says she will respect the will of the people. Many think she is, in fact, simply respecting the will of the Conservative Party to stay in power and ignoring what is now an apparent  majority to stay with the EU.

She has said “Brexit means Brexit” but there is still a lot of debate about what that will mean in practice especially on the two key issues of how British firms do business in the European Union and what curbs are brought in on the rights of European Union nationals to live and work in the UK.

Regional maps of  West Europe countries